Élan Vital


Èlan Vital – Renee Barrance, Danny Brady, Nikolai Sim [photo by Phoebe Lysbeth Kay]

Èlan Vital formed in 2015 in Dunedin’s None Gallery, an artist-run creative community in a former pharmaceutical factory near the City’s old heart, The Exchange.

The expression Èlan Vital describes the vital force or impulse of life. The music on their debut album “Shadow Self” seems to symbolise that life impulse in an ambiguous zone between machine and human worlds. It presents a dense claustrophobic swirl of dark dance-tempo synth-pop which blooms from gloomy cold industrial dance music with vocoder vocals into uplifting melodic dream-pop catharsis about memory, longing, and obsession.

The sound of Èlan Vital takes contemporary European cold-wave synth-pop dance music layered on analogue drum machines, then blends in the warm psychedelic organ sounds of 1960s garage rock. Distorted, overdriven bass guitar adds a further element of chaos into the mix.

Èlan Vital is Renee Barrance (keyboards, vocals), Danny Brady (synths, drum machines, effects, vocals) and Nikolai Sim (bass).

“Shadow Self” is released on LP/ CD and Digital formats on 24 March 2017 by Fishrider Records (NZ) together with Occultation Recordings (UK) [UK/ Europe release 12 May 2017]

Read more about Èlan Vital in an interview published by Lo & Behold and, with a preview of “Dreams” from the album, here at Noisey.